The International 505 Class, American Section has a number of special awards that help bring to light those individuals that exemplify the true spirit of our class

Honorary Members

Dave Cahn Sportsmanship Trophy

The Dave Cahn trophy was created in 1998 to remember Dave Cahn and his brand of sportsmanship. The Dave Cahn trophy is a large half model of a Lindsay 505 hull, mounted on a large plaque. The names of the annual winners of the Dave Cahn trophy are on small plates mounted on the plaque.

Remarks by former International 505 Class President, Ali Meller from the first presentation of the Dave Cahn Trophy at prize presentation for the 1998 505 World Championship.  A little less than a year ago, many of us were racing the 505 Worlds in Gilleleje. We were enjoying the racing, and enjoying the camaraderie the 505 class is legendary for. One of the 505 sailors who was in Gilleleje, who wanted to be here with us in Hyannis, was Dave Cahn. Tragically, Dave died in December while racing his 505.  Dave was the perfect gentlemen on and off the water. I never heard him raise his voice, never saw him try to pull off any questionable move. He raced as hard as he could but was always within the letter and spirit of the rules. I wish I was more like him.  At this time, and at the request of many of Dave’s friends in the class, I would like to ask you to raise a glass in a toast to Dave Cahn… Dave Cahn…

Many of you have seen some of the e-mails about Dave from his many friends in the 505 class. While I was racing the Europeans and the Lake Garda European Cup event earlier this year, conversation with 505 sailors frequently turned to Dave. It amazes me how many people remember Dave, and recall laughing with him; somehow we were always smiling or laughing when we were with him. For many of us, Dave was the person we most wanted to be standing next to at the bar after a 505 race.  I think it important to note that in the 505 class we do not only respect the winners. Dave probably never won a 505 regatta in his life, but he was respected and admired by many in the class, none-the-less.  A number of 505 sailors believe that Dave should be remembered and honored within the 505 class. After some discussions, this trophy – the Dave Cahn Sportsmanship Trophy – a perpetual trophy was created. The trophy is for the Dave Cahn brand of sportsmanship. All American Section 505 sailors are eligible. Donations to cover the material costs of this trophy have been received from around the 505 world. This beautiful trophy was created by Guck, Inc. which has donated the time to build this trophy.  Nominations for the Dave Cahn sportsmanship trophy for each year are sent to the American Section secretary, reviewed by a committee, and voted on by American Section members at the American Section Annual Meeting.

  • 1998 – Eric Willis / Wendy Herzburg
  • 1999 – Barney Harris
  • 2000 – Dan Merino / Bill Jenkins
  • 2001 – Henry Amthor
  • 2002 – Stuart Park
  • 2003 – Paul Von Grey
  • 2004 – Brad Wheeler / Bill Mais
  • 2005 – Sol Marini
  • 2006 – Jason Bright / Mark Dowdry
  • 2007 – Mike Holt
  • 2008 – John Wyles
  • 2009 – Dave Burchfiel
  • 2010 – Macy Nelson / Parry Barclay
  • 2011 – Ted Ferrarone
  • 2012 – Bill McKinney / Stine Cacavas
  • 2013 – Dustin Romey
  • 2014 – Pat Diola
  • 2015 – Tom Kivney
  • 2016 – Paul Pihl
  • 2017 – Pierre Jeangirard
  • 2018 – Carl Smit
  • 2019 – Bryan Richardson
  • 2020 – Tim Murphy
  • 2021 – Rob Woelfel

Dennis Surtees Service Award

2014 recipients Jay and Pease Glaser at the North Americans pre-event clinic in Santa Cruz, CA

The Dennis Surtees Service Award was created in 2002 as an annual award to honor 505 sailors who have distinguished themselves by providing outstanding service to the 505 American Section. The award was conceived by then-president, Jesse Falsone. Jesse said, “The American Section is now 45 years old, and there should be a service award to honor the people that have freely given their time and energy so that Americans could continuously compete in the best sailing dinghy the world has ever known. For decades, Dennis Surtees optimized 505 sailing in the United States both with his performance and his contributions to the class. Dennis represents everything that was and still is great about the class and its leadership, and it gives me great pleasure to commission this trophy that bears his name.”

The Dennis Surtees Service Award shall be awarded annually at the International 505 North American Championship. Winners of the perpetual trophy shall keep the trophy in their possession for the period from the award date until the following North American Championship. The current winner shall assume responsibility for the award, and shall ensure safe passage for it to the North American Championship. The winner is also responsible for the inscription of their name if it is not already on the trophy, but may be reimbursed by the class for the cost of the inscription, assuming the cost is reasonable.

  • 2002 – Ali Meller
  • 2003 – Jesse Falsone
  • 2004 – Howard Hamlin
  • 2005 – Sue Athman
  • 2006 – J Bergquist
  • 2007 – John Wyles
  • 2008 – Michael J. Renda
  • 2009 – Tyler Moore
  • 2010 – Dave Ellis
  • 2011 – Mike Holt
  • 2012 – Aaron Ross
  • 2013 – Macy Nelson
  • 2014 – Jay and Pease Glaser
  • 2015 – Paul Von Grey
  • 2016 – Bryan Richardson
  • 2017 – Jesse Falsone
  • 2018 – Pip Pearson
  • 2019 – Brendan Heussler
  • 2020 – Russell Miller
  • 2021 – Dave Kirkpatrick

Top Female at the North American Championship

The 505 Class has long been the class of choice for exceptional female sailors. Two such sailors have won the 505 North American Championship. Others sail at or near the top of the fleet each year despite that women are in the vast minority among competitors. This perpetual award is dedicated to honoring the female sailor with the highest finishing place at the North American Championship each year.

  • 2002 – Carol Buchan
  • 2003 – Clarissa Bush
  • 2004 – Carissa Harris
  • 2005 – Deb Ashby
  • 2006 – Katherine Long
  • 2007 – Katherine Long
  • 2008 – Jen Morgan Glass
  • 2009 – Katherine Long
  • 2010 – Katrin Dienhardt
  • 2011 – Katherine Long
  • 2012 – Jen Morgan Glass
  • 2013 – Krysia Pohl
  • 2014 – Jen Morgan Glass
  • 2015 – Rachael Boyd
  • 2016 – Carol Buchan
  • 2017 – Catherine Guiader
  • 2019 – Cynthia Des Brisay
  • 2021 – AJ Crane
  • 2022 – Elsa Balton


A nominating committee shall be formed a few months prior to the North American Championship. This committee may consist of the American Section President, Vice President, Secretary, Measurer, and Regional Coordinators, and Dennis Surtees, but may be revised at the discretion of the American Section President. However, the nominating committee shall consist of at least three individuals.

Nominations should be sought through general announcements on the Internet, over email, through Tank Talk, and through personal communications when the nominating committee is formed.

All nominations MUST be in writing. Nomination letters should adequately describe why the nominee is deserving of the award, and specific examples of the nominee’s service should be cited in the letter. The nominating committee shall not accept nominations that only include a name, or a name and a vague description of service.
During the awards ceremony, either the winning nomination letter should be read to the membership, or some words should be spoken to express what that individual has done for the class so that their accomplishments are dutifully recognized.

Jesse Falsone President, International 505 Class YRA, American Section (2000-2002)